Welcome!

Hi there! Thank you for being here. This blog is about my take on feminism, based on what I see around me. It’s also going to have poems and stories written by me. I’m really new to this, so please excuse any mistakes.

Let’s start today’s post with the name of my site. When I thought about starting my own blog, I thought long and hard about what I should name my site. I went through many options, but none of them seemed quite right. Then, one day, I was randomly scrolling through wikipedia, when I came across the term ‘a femme fatale’. Don’t get me wrong. I knew what a femme fatale was before that, but it struck me just then that it would be a great name for my site. See, according to wikipedia, a femme fatale is ‘ a character of  a mysterious, beautiful, and seductive woman whose charms ensnare her lovers, often leading them into compromising, deadly traps.’ Femme fatales are generally villains, or at least morally ambiguous, and reject motherhood. Because of these characteristics, she is seen as a direct threat to men.

The femme fatale is classic example of a woman embracing her sexuality and independence, and being ostracized because. I want to change the warped view that media has of women who get what they want. This is why I am ‘la femme fatale’.

One thought on “Welcome!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started